What do baby robins have to do with writing?

IMG_20170627_154308_776In the writer’s mind it will be instantly seen as procrastination. If I’m taking pictures of baby robins, I’m procrastinating! If I’m not writing, I’m procrastinating, right?

Nope. In fact, I’m in the process of making my writing more meaningful.

If we spend all of our time working and writing word after word, it will be much more of a struggle to find the meaning in any of our words. And eventually a struggle to come up with words to write.

Why? Because we’re writing and we aren’t LIVING. And if we aren’t living how can we make our words and stories meaningful? If I’m writing a scene and decide to write about a full nest of baby birds, I’ll have already experienced it and won’t have to research it or watch it second hand on YouTube. Simple idea, yes, but think about it. Life is constantly inspiration from which to draw. IMG_20170627_153837_281Or perhaps the act of taking pictures of the baby robins will inspire me to work it into a story later…use it as a parable in one of my workshops…or in this blog post to help writers understand that they should take the time to enjoy life and stop being so hard on yourself.

Yes, your butt needs to be in your chair writing, but your mind also needs to be outside enjoying life so it can be ready to get to work the next time. You’ll be energized and more productive. I promise.

Take the time to snap some pictures of those baby robins, you never know when the next time you might have an opportunity to do so. And find a way to make it add meaning to your words and story.

❤ ❤ ❤

xo,

Christina2

 

Leave a Reply

